Civilian Training Courses
We at the American Academy of Protective Training believe in the honest citizen's right to own and bare arms. We also believe it is the duty of all honest citizens to protect themselves and their loved ones from the predatory criminals that walk the streets of America.
An increased number of states are now allowing honest citizens to carry a weapon concealed for protection. The courses we offer are designed to prepare the responsible, adult gun owner to handle their weapons in a safe and effective manner under all circumstances. We believe that for training to be of any benefit it must be interesting, stimulating, and realistic. We believe that in times of peril and stress, you will do what you were trained to do, and what you practiced for. We are firm believers in the training attitude of "train the way you live, live the way you train."
To this end, we will tell you that we are not the biggest nor the fanciest, but offer you some of the most thorough training in firearms techniques that you can find. We do not offer fancy steps, or unique guns and techniques. We don't offer knife, rope, driving, or EMT tactics. What we do offer is time-proven gun tactics, gun techniques and a training staff of the most dedicated trainers you will ever meet. We won't tell you that we were Special ops, Law Enforcement, or anything else just to impress you. We will let our training impress you.
If you have a desire to learn how to use your firearm in a safe and efficient manner, without all the hype and macho attitude, without being made to feel insignificant because you are not some kind of deadly warrior, try us out. We think you'll be pleased with the results.
Owner of AAPT
NRA Training CoursesWhether you are interested in recreational shooting, competition, hunting, gun collecting, historical reenactment, home safety, or personal protection - the basics are where to start! NRA Basic Firearm Training Courses teach you the safety principles and help you develop the knowledge, skills, and attitude that are needed to successfully pursue your shooting interests.
Since 1871, one of NRA's major objectives has been to provide basic training in the safe and proper use of firearms. We offer courses in the following disciplines:
- Pistol Price: $100.00
- Rifle Price: $100.00
- Shotgun Price: $100.00
- Home Firearm Safety Price: $100.00
- Personal Protection Inside The Home Price: $150.00
- Personal Protection Outside The Home Price: $200.00
- Refuse To Be A Victim® Price: $35.00
If you're new to shooting or have never shot before, this class is for you. This is a basic introduction class to Handguns and is taught by Certified Pistol Instructors. It will cover topics such as firearms safety, nomenclature, field stripping, cleaning and maintenance, as well as basic fundamentals of handgun shooting.
Shooting is optional for this class.
April 14th 9 AM- 11 AM
CONCEALED CARRY WEAPONS PERMIT
California Concealed Carry Weapon Course
This course is accepted by: Orange County, Riverside County, City of Riverside, San Diego County, Ventura County as well as other California Agencies.
This course is sanctioned by numerous County Sheriff's Offices for the concealed carry of handguns. We conduct this training on a monthly basis and private classes can also be arranged.
The course is taught by professional instructors with outstanding qualifications. The material covered will include: laws, responsibilities, ethical considerations, firearms training and qualification as mandated by law.
Equipment / Ammunition:
+ Eye and ear protection
+ Ammunition pouch
+ 2 magazines or 1 speedloader per weapon type
+ 75 rounds of ammunition per gun
The weapon you intend to use on the permit must be used during the course. You may list up to three handguns per permit and must qualify with each during the course.
+ Primary handgun + 200 rounds of ammo.
+ 2nd and 3rd handgun + 100 rounds of ammo each. (2nd and 3rd handgun are an additional $25.00 each)
+ Renewal $75
Cost covers handouts, book, range fees, and lunch.
This course does not guarantee you a C.C.W. permit.
California CCW Renewal Course
This course will satisfy the four (4) hour renewal class described by the penal code. Students will need to meet on the range to qualify first, we will then give directions from there. You need to be at the range at 8:30AM to qualify with your gun and shooting equipment, then you will join the class already in progress and be done by 12:30PM.
+ Guns to be put on permit
+ 75 rounds of ammunition per gun
+ Eye and ear protection
+ Holster and belt
Florida CCW Permit
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm (NRA Certified Course) which is offered with AApt
- Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States (US) AND be a US citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). If you are serving overseas in the US Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application. If you are not a US citizen, submit documentation issued by the USCIS proving you are a permanent legal resident alien with proof you have resided in the state of residence (as shown on your application) for at least 90 consecutive days prior to the date the application is submitted.
Proof of residence includes, but is not limited to:
- Monthly utility, telephone, power, or cable bills, which show your name and address.
- Monthly pay stubs or other documentation from your employer, which show your name and address.
- Monthly credit card statements, which show your name and address.
Possible Reasons for Ineligibility: (NOT inclusive)
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Being a fugitive from justice.
UTAH CCW Courses
This Non - Resident Permit authorizes the carrying of concealed weapons in 34 states. CLICK HERE for the class schedules.
This is a four (4) hour classroom instruction. The student must become aware of all Utah state laws regarding carrying and the use of a concealed firearm. The cost of this course is $100.00, and includes all materials.
There are many benefits of obtaining a Utah Non-Resident CCW Permit.
After your CCW instruction, mail your application, Instructor endorsed certificate, passport quality photo, fingerprint card and photocopy of your valid Driver's License to:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84118
Utah CCW permit Applications are provided during your classroom instruction, or you may download an application at the Utah BCI website.
What Will it Cost to Apply?
A non-refundable fee of $65.00 must be included with your Non Resident application. This fee consists of $34.75 for application and permit processing and $30.25 charged by the FBI to process your fingerprint cards. Please make checks and money orders payable to the "Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification."
Who is Eligible?
*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;
has not been convicted of a felony;
has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
What Must Accompany the Application?
- A Photocopy of your Driver License
- Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality.
- Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.
*Local Fingerprint services are available, and your instructor will supply you with a list of local services, many of which may be offered through your local law enforcement agency. There are private businesses that also offer this service. Check in your local phone directory.
- Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application.
Utah CCW Permits, Nevada and Florida CCW Permits DO NOT allow you to carry a concealed firearm within the State of California. Utah CCW Permits, Nevada and Florida CCW Permits are issued for "Personal Protection". Reciprocity and Recognition of Permits from State to State is a complex issue, we cannot and will not give legal advice. If you need accurate answers to specific legal questions, contact the State Issuing Authority or consult an Attorney who is licensed within the State in question. This is not an NRA approved course.
Civilian C2 TASER Training Course / Less Lethal Training
The C2 TASER is an electronic control device intended to provide civilians the same TASER technology presently utilized by law enforcement throughout the country. This allows civilians to have a less lethal alternative for self defense, in effort to temporarily render an assailant incapacitated.
The new TASER C2 series has an almost 100% effectiveness rating, combining the injury-reducing benefits of traditional stun technology with the enormous stopping power of neuromuscular incapacitation (NMI) technology. Recent studies show, the new TASER C2 has a higher instant incapacitation rate than a 9mm pistol. The TASER C2 shoots out 2 darts attached to 15 feet of wire carrying over 50,000 volts affecting the attacker’s central nervous system for up to 30 seconds. As the user deploys the C2, it provides an incredible self defense advantage allowing them to simply drop the device and get away during the 30 second interval the attacker is rendered incapacitated.
This course is designed to afford citizens a certification class providing a hand’s on approach to understand how to properly deploy the TASER C2 weapon in a safe and effective manner.
Course Duration: 2 hours
Course Price: $50.00